

Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania

2014-15 Election

The *Aboriginal Lands Act 1995* (the Act) provides for the election of the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania (ALCT) to hold and manage Aboriginal land on behalf of the Aboriginal people of Tasmania. The ALCT comprises 8 members elected for terms of approximately 3 years. Two members are elected from each of the South region, North region and North-West region and one member from each of the Cape Barren Island group and the Flinders Island group.

The 2014-15 ALCT election will be conducted by the Electoral Commissioner in accordance with the provisions of the Act.

The ALCT Electors Roll

The Act requires the Electoral Commissioner to prepare and maintain an ALCT Electors Roll. To vote or to stand for election to the ALCT, a person must have their name entered on this Roll.

The Electors Roll currently comprises the names of persons entitled to vote at the ALCT election concluded in 2012.

The procedure for adding names to the ALCT Electors Roll involves the names of applicants being placed on a Preliminary Roll. Following an objection and appeal process, names are transferred from the Preliminary Roll to the Electors Roll.

Enrolment invited

Applications for enrolment on the ALCT Electors Roll are now invited. To be entitled to be enrolled, a person must—

- be an Aboriginal person within the meaning of the Act; and
- live in the electoral area for which they wish to be enrolled; and
- be at least 18 years of age.

Enrolment forms and election booklets can be obtained from the office of the Tasmanian Electoral Commission at the address shown below, from our website or by calling 1800 801 701.

The 2014-15 Enrolment and Election Booklet

This booklet has been produced by the Electoral Commissioner and includes—

- A summary of the procedures for the election of 8 members to the Council.
- A description of the electoral areas.
- An explanation of the ALCT Electors Roll, the Preliminary Roll and the enrolment process.
- Guidelines in relation to the definition of 'Aboriginal person'.
- Procedures for dealing with objections to enrolment.

Election Timetable

- Preliminary Roll closes:
 5 pm Thursday 2 October 2014
- Preliminary Roll may be inspected from: Monday 13 October 2014
- Close of objections to enrolments: 5 pm Monday 10 November 2014
- Objections accepted or rejected by: Tuesday 16 December 2014
- Nominations open: Saturday 14 March 2015
- Nominations close: 12 noon Friday 22 May 2015
- Ballot papers posted to electors: Monday 1 June 2015
- Close of ballot: 10 am Tuesday 23 June 2015

Applications for enrolment must be received by 5 pm on Thursday 2 October 2014

Julian Type Electoral Commissioner 5 July 2014

Level 2 Telstra Centre 70 Collins Street (GPO Box 300) Hobart Tasmania 7001 Phone 6233 2000 or 1800 801 701 Fax 6224 0217 ballot.box@tec.tas.gov.au Visit us at www.tec.tas.gov.au